Kale Salad?!

Let me start by making one thing very clear: I am not a healthy eater. I wasn’t raised learning the ins and outs of the eggplant and how to dress a salad using anything but Ranch. My parents fed me vegetables, but they had been frozen half an hour before we ate them, and I grew up with a general disdain for healthy food.

But then I went to college, and there was a full salad bar, and I saw my friends loading up on all sorts of different things – adding peppers, cranberries, sunflower seeds, vinaigrette, etc. to their lettuce. And I followed their lead and discovered that there’s a whole undiscovered world of salad out there for me.

So today I went to the grocery store and bought myself a head of kale, walnuts, cranberries, apples, chicken, and balsamic vinaigrette, and I mixed up my own salad.

13262509_1206357519376633_2111106454_o (1)

It was far from perfect – the apple to kale ratio was a little off and I wasn’t able to finish all of it – but it’s a start! If you’re like me and a total newbie to cooking, don’t get discouraged when you mess up. I’ll be posting my tips and tricks as I learn them, and my first tip is this: don’t put a full apple in a kale salad unless you really, really like apple!

2 thoughts on “Kale Salad?!

Leave a Reply

